

OUABCAA

Galle-Lewis-Dean Gym Update

March 2018

Bannister Bell rings to open the Gallie-Lewis-Dean Gym

On Saturday 10 March, the bell that marked the final lap of Sir Roger Bannister's historic sub-four-minute mile was once again rung at Iffley Road. This time it was to celebrate the official opening of the Gallie-Lewis-Dean Gym (known as the GLD), the first phase of Oxford University's long-awaited redevelopment of its Iffley Road sports facilities.



THE GLD. PHOTO BY JOHN CAIRNS

The gym is named after former Oxford University Amateur Boxing Club (OUABC) head coaches Alf Gallie, Percy Lewis and Henry Dean, who between them gave over 100 years of service to the club. The multi-purpose activity room will be used by OUABC for training, as well as providing up to 22 exercise classes per week for students, staff and members of the local community.

At the celebration, local boxing legends Percy Lewis and Henry Dean rang the Bannister Bell and declared 'seconds out, GLD open'. Over 200 people came from all over the world to be at the ceremony, including many friends and family of the three former OUABC head coaches.

Alf Gallie, Percy Lewis and Henry Dean

Alf Gallie BEM devoted his life to boxing and rugby in Oxford, and trained and coached hundreds of local athletes in a career that spanned more than 40 years. He died in 1985.

One of Alf's protégés, Percy Lewis, represented Great Britain at featherweight in the 1952 Helsinki Olympics alongside teammate Henry Cooper. In 1957, he won the British Empire featherweight title.

Henry Dean, a former England international and sparring partner of Percy's, was instrumental in the Dark Blues' incredible run of 16 consecutive victories over Cambridge during the 1980s and 1990s, a record in any Varsity sport.



L-R: HENRY DEAN, DAVE MACE (CURRENT OUABC HEAD COACH), DES BRACKETT (FORMER OUABC HEAD COACH), CHRIS MACK AND PERCY LEWIS. PHOTO BY JOHN CAIRNS

Supporting future generations of scholar-athletes

More than 120 University boxing alumni gave over £250,000 towards the new facility. A donor board, unveiled at the event by the Chancellor of the University, The Rt Hon Lord Patten of Barnes, CH, recognises their incredible generosity.

Chris Mack, a former Oxford student who trained under Alf, Percy and Henry, led the charge in fundraising for the gym. He says: 'The response from alumni to the appeal was fantastic, with donations coming from those who fought as far back as 1946. There is a huge team spirit within OUABC, and amazing gratitude and affection for all our inspirational coaches, past and present.'

The remainder of the first phase of the Iffley Road redevelopment is due to be completed in April 2018. Once open, the multi-sports complex, which will include the Acer Nethercott Sports Hall, a second four-court sports hall and a refurbished café and reception area, will enable Oxford to continue nurturing future generations of scholar-athletes for many years to come.

Oxford boxing alumni - making the GLD a reality

Robin

Alumni support the Club in many ways, both financial and by giving of their time. Thank you to everyone who donates to the Club, either directly or via standing order to the Alumni Association. Without this support the Club simply could not survive. Thank you, in addition, to those alumni who donate to the outreach programme.

We saw huge support for the GLD from OUABCAA members. Thank you from the Club, the University, and the Alumni Association to the following people who have generously donated, or pledged a specific amount, to the appeal.

Names below include years fought against Cambridge and are not necessarily as they appear on the donor board.

Tony Abbott (1982 & 83)	James Elliot (1993)	Seim Munif (1994-96)
Terry Adams (1955-58)	Trevor Faber (1966-68) & Malcolm Faber (1960-62)	Sarah Murfin (Daughter of Peter Coughlin)
Simon Albert (2000 & 01)	Tim Fell (1989)	In memory of Robert L Nairac GC (1969-72)
Mark Andreae (1963)	Tom Freije (2005 & 06)	Sam Neaman (1984 & 85)
Burapa Atthakor (1964)	Eric Greitens (1997 & 98)	Paul Newton (1976, 77 & 79) & Kate Newton (2009)
Eric Lubbock, Lord Avebury (1946 & 49)	Richard Gutsell (1999)	Chris Pears (1986 & 87)
Karim Ayoubi (1994-96)	Gabriel Hamid (1987)	Jack Prescott (2014)
Keith Bolshaw (1973)	Chris Hampson (1996)	Ian Price (1986)
Jeffrey Bonas (1964)	Steve Hartnell (1979 & 80)	Fabio Quaradeghini (1992 & 93)
Didier Boremanse (1972 & 77)	David Heathcoat-Amory (1969 & 70)	Dominic Raab (1995)
John Borgars (1965-68)	David Heaver (1978)	Dollar Rattakul (1986)
David Boulton (1987)	Basil Hone (1946 & 47)	Simon Reece (1972)
Ed Cartwright (1999-2001)	James Hurrion (1995)	Srikumar Sen (1951)
John Coker (1966)	Frank Huyler (1986)	Mark Silinsky (1981)
Javier Colayco (1999)	Andrew James (1995 & 96)	Paul Smith (1991)
Niall Considine (1989)	John James (1985 & 86)	Bob Spears (1966)
Simon Crawford (1989)	Ashley Jones (1990 & 91)	Krishnan Srinivasan (1956)
Bill Crowley (1980)	Brian Jones (1961 & 62)	Marcus Stamton (1975)
Peter Crystal (1968)	Stephen Kennedy (1976-78)	Jamie Stein (1996)
Richard Daggenhurst (1982)	Luke Kotchie (2001)	Ron Stone (1966)
Owen Darbishire (1987)	Piers Litherland (1976)	Jack Straker (2014)
Peter Davies (1972-74)	Femi Oguntokun Macaulay (1985)	Sophie Straton-Ferrier in memory of her father, John (1947)
Mikey Davis (2012 & 13)	Chris Mack (1985 & 86)	Glen Swire (1962)
Rupert Deighton (1967 & 68)	Ron Mathison (1983)	The Swire Charitable Trust
Will de Laszlo (2001)	Biff Matthews (1970)	Oliver Thomas (2002)
Enrico Del Prete (2001)	Simon McKie (1977 & 78)	Chris Tooley (1987)
Steve Diggle (1986)	Frank Mclaughlin (1987)	UBS
Paul Docherty (1979)	Hugh McManners (1977)	Mark Vincent (1973 & 75)
Paddy McK Docherty (1998)	Steve Michaud (1972 & 73)	Graham Ward (1972-74)
James Douglas-Hamilton (Lord Selkirk of Douglas) (1962)	David Mitchell (1956-58)	Roger Wardle (1963)
Richard Dove (1959 & 61)	Reed Morgan (1984-86)	James & Kate Webster (Both 2006 & 07)
Tommy Doyle (2000)	Richard Morgan (1975 & 76)	Nick Wilcockson (1975)
Robin Duggan (1986-88), Simon Duggan (1986 & 88) & Mike Duggan (1991 & 92)	Simon Morgan (1976)	Gordon Willoughby (1982-84)
James Eddy (1993 & 94)	Mark Mullins (1999)	Plus 3 anonymous donors